In Florida, you can expect the authorities to aggressively investigate and prosecute alleged video voyeurism. The crime of video voyeurism occurs when someone is “dressing, undressing, or privately exposing the body at a place and time when that person has a reasonable expectation of privacy.” Places with a reasonable expectation of privacy would exist include bathrooms, changing rooms, fitting rooms, tanning booths, or anywhere inside a “residential dwelling” according to Florida law.
Three Specific Crimes Under Video Voyeurism Law
Under Florida law, there are three distinct crimes that stem from filming someone during their intimate moments without their permission. These offenses are:
- Video voyeurism. Under Sec. 810.145 of the Florida statutes, this is the most rudimentary charge. This occurs when someone films another person for “amusement, entertainment, sexual arousal, gratification, or profit, or for the purpose of degrading or abusing another person.”
- Video voyeurism dissemination. With this charge, someone is alleged to have disseminated, transferred, or distributed an image of someone that they either know or should know was taken without the subject’s consent.
- Commercial video voyeurism dissemination. Commercial dissemination of video voyeurism in Florida involves someone trying to sell an image of someone that was obtained through video voyeurism. It also applies to someone sending an image to another individual to sell.
Possible Penalties for Video Voyeurism Conviction
- First-degree misdemeanor: For anyone charged with video voyeurism, they will generally be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor (if they haven’t committed prior offenses). Penalties for a first-degree misdemeanor conviction include jail or probation of up to one year, including a fine of up to $1,000.
- Third-degree felony: Anyone 19 or older will be charged with a third-degree felony for the charge of video voyeurism. This carries a possible jail sentence of five years, along with five years of probation. Fees can total $5,000.
- Second-degree felony: Those with a criminal record will face steeper penalties if convicted of video voyeurism. Up to 15 years of prison or probation is slated for second-degree felony offenders, as well as $10,000 in fines.
Penalties could be more severe depending on the age of the victim and individual charged. Convictions for video voyeurism of a minor usually results in the person convicted having to register as a sex offender.
Serious allegations such as video voyeurism make it imperative to retain an expert in the area. The right attorney will fight for you in and out of court to protect your rights. Camadeco Law Group’s Senior Trial Counsel Tammy Forrest has been handling this exact type of crime for 31 years. She is uniquely experienced and skilled in sex crimes and is ready to exhaust all avenues in order to get the results that you want.
You have no time to waste – get in touch with us through our website here or call us at 239-444-5529.
Titan Law, PLLC.
Latest posts by Titan Law, PLLC. (see all)
- Five Urgent Things to Do If You’re Charged with a DUI in Florida - October 11, 2023