It takes a leap of faith to put your health and safety in the hands of someone you’ve never met. When you use a rideshare app like Uber or Lyft in Florida, you trust that driver to get you where you’re going safely. As we all know, however, navigating the roads in Florida is no easy task.
So, what happens if you’re the victim of a car accident involving a rideshare company? Uber and Lyft may be responsible for the damages you suffer depending on the circumstances which adds an additional layer to these claims.
Prioritize your health
Before we get into the meat of your claim, we always advise clients to prioritize their physical health. You must seek care for any injuries regardless of severity for a multitude of reasons. First and foremost, your health matters to live a long, comfortable life. Beyond that, the clock is ticking on getting compensation for the care you receive.
Florida law gives car accident victims 14 days to seek medical treatment to avoid losing out on a Personal Injury Protection (PIP) claim. This doesn’t mean your treatment needs to be complete or even that a full treatment plan needs to be in place. You just need to start the process within that 14-day window. You can still claim compensation based on estimations of ongoing care as long as you sought care by the deadline.
Florida is a no-fault state
People love to debate “fault” in Florida car accidents. You cut me off. I ran a red light. The third party was speeding. Florida being a no-fault state means regardless of who is at fault, drivers must carry PIP and property damage liability coverage to pay for their medical expenses and other damages. Both must have a minimum of $10,000 in coverage.
If your injuries and the damages exceed your own PIP coverage then your case can rise to the level of litigation against the other party and their insurance company.
File a claim through the rideshare company’s insurance
When Uber and Lyft first grew in popularity, the companies did not require and were not required to carry liability insurance. That has changed and now both of the two main rideshare companies carry insurance in the event of an accident.
Uber and Lyft carry up to $1 million in liability insurance for damages suffered by passengers if their own drivers are at fault. As long as the app is active, rideshare drivers, passengers, and even other parties are covered by the company’s insurance.
Rideshare insurance coverages differ based on the situation.
- Driver is active on the app on the way to pick up a passenger or during rides
- $1,000,000 in third-party auto liability
- Uninsured/underinsured bodily injury and first-party injury insurance
- When drivers have their own comprehensive collision coverage, rideshare companies offer comprehensive and collision coverage up to the cash value of the car with a $2,500 deductible
- Driver is active on the app but waiting for a ride request
- $50,000 per person for bodily injury coverage (up to $100,000 total)
- $25,000 for property damage coverage
- When the driver isn’t using the app: the driver’s personal insurance policy applies
Titan Law is an experienced rideshare accident law firm
At Titan Law, we are a fighter for the accused and a voice for the voiceless. Your experience, injuries, and damages matter to us. Our team understands the significant trauma and healing that result from Florida rideshare accidents. Not every personal injury or car accident law firm can handle rideshare-specific cases.We are here to support you and bring our experience to your case so you can focus on healing and recovery while we focus on getting you every penny you are owed. We represent both drivers and passengers in rideshare accidents. Contact us to speak directly to your attorney.
Titan Law, PLLC.
Latest posts by Titan Law, PLLC. (see all)
- Five Urgent Things to Do If You’re Charged with a DUI in Florida - October 11, 2023